About us

The association was established in 2015 on the basis of 11 founding cities – current members of the Polish National Network of Cittaslow Cities. Establishing an organization with legal personality has created an opportunity for small towns to obtain external funds to implement the goals of the Cittaslow movement, which can be supported by external funds.
After several years of operation, the Association is now a significant and proven partner of the Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship, including: in the implementation of the Supra-local Revitalization Program of the Cittaslow town network in the Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship, co-financed by the Warmia-Masuria Regional Operational Program for 2014-2020. In the next EU financial period for 2021-2027, the infrastructure created or revitalized as a result of the program constitutes the basis for the implementation of subsequent social projects.
In the European Funds for Warmia and Mazury program for 2021-2027, the Cittaslow network of cities, from the point of view of the region’s development, is one of the areas of strategic intervention. This was reflected in the undertakings resulting from the new strategic document of the Association. Members of the “Polish Cittaslow Cities” Association have prepared a new development program that identifies investment needs that have a significant impact on the development of the entire network. They are mainly related to environmental protection, with particular emphasis on improving air quality in small towns. The motto of the program fiche, accepted as the voivodeship’s strategic project, is “There is no good life without clean air.” The program will cover 20 Cittaslow cities. Currently, the Association has 24 members.